Showing posts with label Configure. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Configure. Show all posts

2 Jul 2012

Preset Import Settings for File Types in Showcase 2013

In previous releases of Showcase you had one Import dialogue which appeared during Import, giving a short list of quality settings. After which you would then have to change the Environment, the Up Axis, Create your Shots to your liking.

In Showcase 2013 you can now preset your Import Settings for particular file types, i.e. .STP, .IAM, .IGES. Allowing you to not only choose the Import quality, but also the initial Environment, preset Shots, Up Axis amongst others.

To modify your presets see below:
  • Open Showcase and go to the File menu > Settings > Import Settings
  • You will then be presented with the Import Settings dialogue where you can start to tweak the default Import Settings for particular file types to your liking.

24 Mar 2012

Import and Export Vault Configurations

Once you have your Vault configured, you can log into the Vault server console and save your configuration. The configuration can be used when configuring a new Vault. The following steps can be used to export your configuration.

Export a Configuration

  • On the Start Menu, select All Programs > Autodesk > Autodesk Data Management > Autodesk Data Management Server Console.
  • On the left side of the Server Console select the Vault you want to export the configuration from.
  • From the Action pull down menu select Export Configuration.
  • Select a location and filename for the configuration file and select Save.

Import a Configuration

  • From the Start Menu, select All Programs > Autodesk > Autodesk Data Management > Autodesk Data Management Server Console.
  • On the left side of the Server Console select the Vault you want to apply the existing configuration.
  • From the Action pull down menu select Import Configuration.
  • Select the configuration file and select Open.

Note: after an Import Configuration, run a -Ob2bmigrate to ensure that the changes are fully implemented.

27 Feb 2012

Understanding Content Center Locations

We often get calls about Content Center, where it is located and the best method for organising.

With Content Center, there are two elements, the Library and the Generated Parts. Because the Content Center contains over a million parts, it is easier to contain these in a database, which you access upon hitting Insert from Content Center. Once you select a size and place in the Assembly, it then creates the Generated Part.

Library

There are two options for hosting the Content Center libraries, Inventor Desktop Content or Autodesk Vault Server.

By default Inventor will install Desktop Content Libraries, which by default are copied to the following locations:

XP - C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Autodesk\Inventor 2012\Content Center\Libraries

Win7 & Vista - C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\Inventor 2012\Content Center\Libraries

These options are set during the installation and stored inside Inventor under Tools > Application Options > Content Center TAB.

If you are running Vault within the company, then it is likely that the Libraries will be hosted on the Vault Server, so to access these you will need to set the Content Center option in Application Options to Autodesk Vault Server.